Tennessee Clean Water Network © 2019

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon



TCWN employees implement clean water objectives with leadership from the Executive Director and governance by a Board of Directors.

But most of all, we stand with all Tennesseans to demand cleaner groundwater, lakes, rivers, and drinking water. 


Kathy Hawes

Executive Director

Kathy Hawes became the Executive Director of TCWN in September 2018. She began her career at TCWN as the Coordinator of the Mississippi River Collaborative. Now she enjoys applying the knowledge she gained about the science of water pollution, the advantages (and limitations) of clean water regulations, the importance of community participation, and the value of improving the health of Tennesseans and Tennessee's beautiful waterways.

Kathy has over 15 years experience as a manager in a for-profit industry and uses the education she gained through an MBA program to improve grant execution, financial stability, and organizational leadership.


"Living in Kingston, where the TVA coal ash spill occurred in 2008, gave me first-hand experience with the devastating effects that threats to water quality pose, not only to our environment, but to Tennesseans both now and for generations to come."


Sarah Eastburn

Director of Educational Outreach and Marketing

Sarah Eastburn is the Director of Educational Outreach for the Bringing Tap Back program. Her marketing focus is closely tied to TCWN’s online presence and, in addition, she works closely with partnering schools and universities to encourage the consumption of safe, clean, and convenient tap water through the Tennessee Department of Health’s Project Diabetes grant, the Siddiqi Charitable Foundation grant and the Clarksville-Montgomery Community Health Foundation grants.


Donate to TCWN

Support TCWN's work to identify, prevent, and remedy water pollution statewide.


George Proios

President - Board of Directors

gaproios (at) gmail.com

Rutledge, TN

For more than 35 years George has been involved in various governmental positions related to environmental protection. For ten years, he worked for the New York Senate as Executive Director of the Long Island Water Commission and received four gubernatorial appointments for various positions.

George was the Assistant County Executive for Environmental Affairs for Suffolk County, and for ten years chaired the Central Pine Barrens Commission.

George retired to Cherokee Lake and is currently the Vice Chairman of the Cherokee Lake Users Association where he oversees the monthly water sampling program undertaken with Carson-Newman University.


Charlie Mansfield

Secretary/Treasurer - Board of Directors
Harriman, TN

Charlie Mansfield is an environmental professional with 35 years experience in a variety of manufacturing, commercial, and governmental settings. He has prepared wastewater, waste, and air environmental permits for private and governmental facilities and operated industrial wastewater treatment systems. He has worked extensively with local, state and federal regulatory agencies during air, waste and wastewater audits and inspections. He also has expertise in the sampling and analysis of air, soil, hazardous waste, radiological waste, and groundwater. 

Stuart I. Cassell

Member - Board of Directors
Knoxville, TN

Stuart Cassell is a practicing attorney who has guided river tours on the Holston River for more than 20 years. He also enjoys farming and gardening.


Cliff Cockerham

Member - Board of Directors
Nashville, TN

Cliff Cockerham is the Executive Director of the Tennessee Chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility.


James Lenschau

Member - Board of Directors
Memphis, TN

James G. M. Lenschau is a partner at the law firm of Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Geography from the University of California, Davis and his Juris Doctorate degree from the Southern Methodist University School of Law, where he was the editor-in-chief of the Computer Law Review and Technology Journal. He has also completed post-graduate programs in environmental matters at the University of California, Davis, and the University of California, Berkeley. 


Jim practices primarily in the areas of commercial real estate transactions, lending and secured transactions, business transactions, development of environmental impacted sites and economic development. 


Jim is a member of the Memphis (director, 2008) and Tennessee Bar Associations, as well as a member of the International Council of Shopping Centers and is a Fellow of the Memphis Bar Foundation.  He is the current chairperson of the Memphis and Shelby County Pollution Control Board, a member of both the Tennessee Bar Association’s executive councils for the real estate and environmental sections, and the ombudsman for the local MENSA chapter.

Joe McCaleb

Member - Board of Directors
Primm Springs, TN

Joe W. McCaleb’s professional career has benefited Tennesseans and their environment for over 40 years. After earning his J.D. in Memphis in 1970, Joe received a Master’s in Environmental Law at Vermont Law School and Civil Mediation Training at David Lipscomb University in Nashville.


Joe is licensed to practice law in all state and federal courts in Tennessee, the U.S. Court of Appeals, the 6th Circuit, and the U.S. Supreme Court. Before retiring in 2011, he used his expertise to benefit organizations like Sierra Club, TCWN, TN Scenic Rivers Association, Harpeth Conservancy, the Natural Resource Defense Council, as well as many other private citizens throughout Tennessee. Joe was an original member of TCWN’s Board of Directors and has maintained his involvement throughout the last 15+ years.


Throughout his career, Joe has represented clients challenging highway projects, water quality permits, USACE Section 404 permits, TVA Section 26(a) permits, NEPA violations, Endangered Species Act violations, power line crossings, landfills, land use and zoning, and Native American burial site desecrations.


Joe continues to advise TCWN staff, stakeholders, and other Board members on legal issues related to Tennessee’s environment.


Henry Spratt

Member - Board of Directors
Chattanooga, TN

Henry Spratt is a Professor of Biology, Geology, and Environmental Science at University of Tennessee in Chattanooga. He has a Ph.D. in Microbiology from University of Georgia and was trained in classical, lab-based microbiology. Spratt’s work includes soil studies as well as water quality in freshwater and marine wetlands.


Shannon McCarragher

Member - Board of Directors
Chattanooga, TN

Shannon McCarragher is a Professor of Geography in University of Tennessee at Chattanooga’s Department of Social, Cultural, and Justice Studies. Her primary research explores the role vegetation plays in the conservation of biodiversity and human-environment interactions. More broadly, she is interested in plant invasion dynamics, forest ecology, restoration and management, soil science, and the environmental impact of climate change on ecosystems.